Marlins of Merit

Share this Story

Students recognized May 2 at Spring Honors Convocation, Academic Fair

By Staff | May 2, 2014

GUEST OF HONOR: Mrs. Suzanne Ledeboer travels from California each spring to present the Ledeboer Family Scholarship Award to a deserving VWC adult history student. Senior Natasha Bugey is this year's award recipient. (Photo by Janice Marshall-Pittman) Students’ academic and leadership accomplishments were recognized Friday, May 2 at Virginia Wesleyan College’s annual Spring Honors Convocation, held in the Convocation Center inside the Jane P. Batten Student Center.

“It is this day, and days like this one, that give me—and I expect, you—hope for the future,” said VWC President Billy Greer, as he welcomed guests to the event. “To my young friends, I say congratulations on the honors you will receive. Be humble. Be a better human being. Live life to its fullest, right now.”

The event recognized 83 students for their outstanding contributions to VWC’s academic community. Individual departmental award recipients were acknowledged along with undergraduate research participants, students on the Dean's List, graduating PORTfolio students, honor society members, student executive council and senators, and the Class of 2014. President Billy Greer, Dean Timothy O'Rourke and Chaplain Gregory West were joined by VWC faculty and members of the community, who presented the awards.

The Wesleyan Singers, led by Director of Choral Music Michael John Trotta, brought the event to a close with a singing of the College’s alma mater. An Honors Convocation reception and the ninth annual Academic Fair immediately followed the ceremony in Hofheimer Library.

Photo Gallery: Spring 2014 Honors Convocation & Academic Fair

This year’s winners include:

  • Northside Rotary Citizenship Award - Melinda Bertram
  • Heritage Bank Annual Scholarship - Ashley Hill
  • Adult Studies Academic Achievement Award - Sabrina Beach
  • Art Department Honors - Shawn Riley
  • Biology Department Awards - Nicolletta Cuthbert, Jeffrey Illinik, Andrea Rodriguez, Margie Sleeper, Eric Walker
  • Excellence in Chemistry Award - Darren Driscoll
  • Hampton Roads American Chemical Society Outstanding Chemistry Senior - Darren Driscoll
  • CRC Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award - Britton Hipple
  • Classical Studies Award - Kinston Walker
  • Latin Award - Damon Vine
  • Communication Awards - Kaitlyn Dozier, Jill Reynolds
  • Journalism Award - Kaitlyn Dozier
  • Dora H. Dobrin Awards for Excellence in Social Work - April Christman
  • Earth and Environmental Science Department Award - Benjamin Bowes, Allison Leapard
  • Environmental Studies Award - Mikel Conway
  • Education Department Outstanding Achievement, Elementary - Susan Knowlton
  • Education Department Outstanding Achievement, Secondary - Carly Ciarochi, Saleen Martin
  • Education Department Outstanding Achievement, Transfer Student - Catherine Saurino
  • Education Department Outstanding Achievement, Special Education - Sabrina Beach
  • Delta Kappa Gamma Virginia Scholars Award - Aimee Clark
  • Distinguished Graduating English Award - Victoria Pretlow
  • Faculty Recognition Award - Chelsea Brock, Blake Izaguirre, Katherine Killinger, Victoria Pretlow, Patrick Santos, Katharine Stewart
  • French Award - Sarah Antozzi, Chelsea Brock
  • Greek Scholar of the Year - Allison Dazey
  • Club President Scholar of the Year - Kaitlyn Dozier
  • Senior History Award - Cory Reeves
  • Ledeboer Family Scholarship - Natasha Bugey
  • Library Research Award - Tempe Martens, Emily Midkiff
  • Outstanding Student in Mathematics - Wesley Davis
  • Outstanding Student in Calculus - Megan Gerhardt
  • Outstanding Student in Computer Science - Michael Corder
  • MBE Sophomore Award - Marisa Harris, Megan Hughes
  • Robert H. Cass Memorial Outstanding Senior Award - Kirsten Olson
  • Marlin Ministries Servant-Leader Award - Dejha Crudup
  • Music Department Award - Kamil Inmon
  • Political Science Major Award - Kyle Wimbrough
  • International Studies Major Award - Franchesica Middleton
  • Distinguished Graduating Seniors in Psychology - Charity Bock, Tempe Martens
  • Research Award in Psychology - Stephanie Luce
  • Recreation & Leisure Studies Outstanding Major Award - Christian Almy, Irene Kyrus, Emilie McIntosh
  • William “Tree” Rountree Monarch Bank Young Life Scholarship - Summer Moore, Andrew Tomajczyk
  • S. Diane Guadalupe Award - Franchesica Middleton
  • Senior Class Scholarship - Tyler Taylor
  • Hite Award for Outstanding Service to VWC Theatre - Gabrielle Mokol, Ada van Tine
  • Undergraduate Research Program Awards for the Humanities Division - Amari Agee, Isaac Arrington, Kyle Austin, Aoife Branco, Laura Fitrer, Victoria Pretlow, Thomas Simmons
  • Undergraduate Research Program Awards for the Natural Sciences and Mathematics - Tyler Chang, Nicolletta Cuthbert, Darren Driscoll, Samantha Eanes, Amanda Hyre, Andrea Rodriguez, Thomas Simmons
  • Undergraduate Research Program Awards for the Social Sciences Division - Amelia Dodson, Renee Ellis, Stephanie Luce, Cory Reeves, Alexis Turner-Lafving