Milestones Worth Celebrating

Share this Story

Employees recently honored at the College's annual appreciation dinner

By Laynee Timlin | April 8, 2012


Gratitude was certainly on the menu for the 2012 VWC Employee Appreciation Dinner on March 29. After a welcome and sincere thanks from College President Billy Greer and an impressive dinner, service awards were presented to employees who had reached noteworthy career milestones.

Director of Human Resources, Karla Rasmussen assisted President Greer in presenting the employee service awards to attendees at the event.

“This is a very special occasion for many of our faculty and staff,” said Rasmussen. “This year, we honored employees who have been with Virginia Wesleyan for 10, 20, 25, 30 and 40 years.”  Professor of History Clayton Drees was one of the honored employees in attendance at the event.

“I know the word ‘family’ is often overused these days,” said Drees, “but it really does describe the feeling I've had working for two decades with the wonderful people who make up the Virginia Wesleyan community.”
Drees went on to describe the event as delightful and noted that it was nice to know that his efforts at the College have not gone unnoticed.

“The dinner and the awards ceremony certainly put an exclamation point on my entire career. When I finally retire I will take with me the lasting memories of the eager students and the warm faculty/staff friendships that made working at Virginia Wesleyan so rewarding.”

Congratulations to the following employees for reaching noteworthy career milestones in 2012:

Dr. R. David Clayton 40 years Professor of Music
Mr. David Buckingham 30 years Vice President for Student Affairs, Dean of Enrollment
Services and Instructor of History
Mr. Tom Farley 25 years Director of Adult Studies Program
and Program Development Coordinator for K-12 Initiatives
Dr. Linda Ferguson 25 years Professor of MBE
Dr. William Gibson 25 years Professor of Political Science
Ms. Fayne Pearson 25 years Director of the Learning Center and Disability Services
Ms. Sheila Rouson 25 years Housekeeper
Ms. Vivian Teter 25 years Professor of English
Dr. Mavel Velasco 25 years Professor of Spanish
Ms. Denise Wilkinson 25 years Batten Professor of Mathematics and Director of
First Year Experience
Ms. Bernice Bledsoe 20 years Housekeeper
Ms. Karen Devereaux 20 years Circulation Supervisor
Dr. Clay Drees 20 years Professor of History
Dr. Steven Emmanuel 20 years Professor of Philosophy
Dr. William Greer, Jr. 20 years President
Ms. Brenda Moore 20 years Housekeeper
Ms. Teresa Rhyne 20 years Director of Financial Aid
Ms. Tia Caffee 10 years Materials Manager for Copy Center
Ms. Maria Clemons 10 years Housekeeper
Ms. Lisa Fentress 10 years Director of Career Services
Ms. Julie Houghton 10 years Administrative Assistant to the Registrar
Dr. Terry Lindvall 10 years C.S. Lewis Endowed Professor of Communication and
Christian Thought
Dr. Sara Sewell 10 years Associate Professor of History
Mr. Joshua Stewart 10 years Head Men's Lacrosse Coach
Mr. Andrew Weaver 10 years Call Support