Student Achievement in Bloom

Share this Story

Annual Spring Honors Convocation celebrates accomplishments of outstanding Wesleyan students


By Staff | May 7, 2012

Virginia Wesleyan College's annual Spring Honors Convocation, an event that recognizes students for their academic and leadership achievement, was held in the Jane P. Batten Student Center on Friday, May 4.

"Today is a day when we celebrate student success and faculty persistence," President Billy Greer told guests.

The event recognized individual departmental award recipients, students on the Academic Dean's List, members of Honor Societies, Student Executive Council and Senators, and the Class of 2012. President Billy Greer, Dean Timothy O'Rourke and Chaplain Gregory West were joined by VWC faculty and members of the community, who presented the awards.

The awards concluded with the singing of the alma mater led by Stephanie Drinkard.

To see a gallery of photos from the 2012 Spring Honors Convocation ceremony, click here.


By Staff | May 7, 2012

This year's winners included:

  • Northside Rotary Citizenship Award - Brian Boettcher
  • Adult Studies Academic Achievement Award - Sunny Coons
  • Art Department Honors - Brandy Arab, Katie Bennett, Kathryn Creameans, Emily Menke
  • Biology Department Award - Kristyn Anselmo
  • Excellence in Chemistry Award - Kristyn Anselmo
  • Hampton Roads American Chemical Society Outstanding Chemistry Senior - Kristyn Anselmo
  • CRC Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award - Elizabeth Allen
  • Choral Award - Jordan Bondurant, Stephanie Drinkard
  • Classical Studies Award - Michele Kelly
  • Latin Award - Brittany Camac
  • Club President Scholar of the Year - Melissa Snyder
  • Greek Scholar of the Year - Kelsey Kidd
  • Communications Award - Natalie Belva
  • Department of Criminal Justice/Sociology Distinguished Faculty Recognition Awards - Kelly Fauth, Jennifer Wiscons, Arianna Benzineb, Kelsey Hottle, Andrew Kasecamp, Preeteka Singh
  • Earth and Environmental Science Department Award - Melinda Hopper
  • Education Department Academic Achievement Awards - Brianna Bertovich, Jennifer Brown, Edward Griggs, Holly Cromich, Elizabeth Boyce, Jaclyn Quinn, Suzann Moebes, Carol Handwerk
  • Outstanding Research Scholar in Education - Melissa Snyder
  • Delta Kappa Gamma Virginia Scholars Award - Kelsey Kidd
  • Outstanding Graduating English Major - Melissa Snyder
  • French Awards - Breanna Muir, Brittany Muir
  • S. Diane Guadalupe Award - Rebecca Murphy
  • Awards for Excellence in History - Bethany Bayles, Jennifer Brown, Amanda Tinelli
  • Ledeboer Family Scholarship - Cynthia Randolph
  • International Studies Major Award - Michele Kelly
  • Library Research Awards - Bethany Bayles, Tanya Puccio
  • The Department of Management, Business, and Economics Academic Achievement Award - Tempe Martens
  • The Department of Management, Business, and Economics Robert H. Cass Outstanding Senior Award - David Dunn
  • The Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants' Award of Achievement - David Dunn
  • Math/Computer Science Department Awards - Samantha Eanes, Michael Corder
  • Monarch Bank Young Life Scholarship - Kala Guy
  • North Carolina Campus Compact Outstanding AmeriCorps Service Award for Virginia - Allison Reeves
  • Phoenix Awards - Edward Griggs, Nicole Rust
  • Political Science Major Award - Bethany Bayles
  • Distinguished Graduating Senior in Psychology - Amber Grader, Kimberly McKinney
  • Outstanding Recreation and Leisure Studies Major Awards - Heather Fay, Heather Sookram
  • Religious Studies Awards - Brandon Nichols, Adam Tobey
  • The Hite Award for Distinguished Service to the VWC Theatre Program - Kaitlin Harris