

VWU COMMISSIONS AND COMMITTEES ACADEMIC YEAR 2024 – 2025

Faculty representatives are elected by faculty in school and faculty at-large are elected by faculty assembly, unless otherwise noted. ***indicates chair**

Educational Programs Commission (EPC) (17 Faculty & Staff members)

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Provost and Vice President	Deirdre Gonsalves-Jackson		
Birdsong School Dean	Craig Wansink	appointed by	VPAA
Brock School Dean	Victor Townsend	appointed by	VPAA
Goode School Dean	Sally Shedd	appointed by	VPAA
Watts School Dean	Ben Dobrin	appointed by	VPAA
Dean of Global Campus		Appointed by	VPAA
Registrar	Courtney Knudsen		
Birdsong School Faculty	James Moskowitz	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Brock School Faculty	Pradip Basnet	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Goode School Faculty	Stu Minnis	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Watts School Faculty	Arthur Pantelides	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Education Dept Faculty	Claire Berube	1st of 3-yr term	2024
Faculty At-Large	Stephen Leist	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Faculty At-Large	Lydia Kennedy	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Faculty At-Large	Sara Ryan	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Faculty At-Large	Rich Bond	1st of 3-yr term	2026
Director of Support Services, Global Campus			
General Education Committee Representative	designated by GEC		

General Education Committee

Standing subcommittee of the Educational Programs Commission (5 faculty members, staggered 3-year terms)

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Birdsong School Faculty	Rich Bond	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Brock School Faculty	Margaret Reese	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Goode School Faculty	Jennifer Slivka	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Watts School Faculty	Kristen Fedesco	2nd of 3-yr term	2027
Faculty At-Large	Carol Johnson	3rd of 3-yr term	2025

Faculty Standards and Welfare Commission (10 Faculty)

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Birdsong School Faculty	Thomas Brown	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Brock School Faculty	Soraya Bartol	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Goode School Faculty	Lisa Lyon Payne	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Watts School Faculty	Linda Ferguson	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Faculty At-Large (tenured)	Kathy Merlock Jackson	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Faculty At-Large	Rebecca Hooker	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
CAT Representative	Taryn Myers	Designated by CAT	
Faculty Hearing Committee (3 faculty members, specified by rank)			
Full Professor	Diana Risk	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Associate Professor	Carol Johnson	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Assistant Professor	Levi Tenen	3rd of 3-yr term	2024

Committee on Advancement and Tenure

No more than two members of the committee may be from the same school. No more than one person from any department (5 full professors with tenure)

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Birdsong School Faculty	Taryn Myers	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Brock School Faculty	Kevin Kittredge	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Goode School Faculty	Kellie Holzer	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Watts School Faculty	Michelle Vachris	3rd of 3-yr term	2024
Faculty At-Large	Terry Lindvall	2nd of 3-yr term	2026

Faculty Assembly Agenda Committee

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Birdsong School Faculty	Gabi Martorell	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Brock School Faculty	Craig Wansink	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Goode School Faculty	Gavin Pate	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Watts School Faculty	Doug Kennedy	1st of 3-yr term	2026
School Dean Representative	Rotating member		
Secretary of the Faculty	Margaret Reese	1-yr term	2025

Nominating Committee

Same composition as Agenda Committee without the School Dean Representative Positions to Serve Faculty Assembly and Community Council

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Parliamentarian	Frank Futyma	1-yr term	2025
Secretary of the Faculty	Margaret Reese	1-yr term	2025

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Director of Academic Effectiveness/Chair of Academic Effectiveness Committee	Craig Jackson		
Birdsong School Faculty	Robert Ariel	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Brock School Faculty	Annika Quick	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Goode School Faculty	Alain Gabon	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Watts School Faculty	Malcolm Lively	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Faculty At-Large	Stephen Hock	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Faculty At-Large	Drian Glyde	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Faculty At-Large	Doug Kennedy	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Librarian	Sarah deRosa		

Committee on Innovative Teaching and Engaged Learning (INTEL) (7 faculty and staff)

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Birdsong School Faculty	Kathy Stolley	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Brock School Faculty	Breanna Noffsinger	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Goode School Faculty	Ben Haller	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Watts School Faculty	Garrett Wood	2nd of 3-yr term	2026
Wesleyan Engaged Director	Bethany Smeeton		
Instructional Technology Director	Lisa Geiger		
Librarian		of 3-yr term	
Faculty At-Large	Jeff Toussaint	1st of 3-yr term	2027

Honor Council

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Chairperson (appointed by Provost)	Eric Mazur		

CAC Brock: Chris Haley Goode: Stephen Hock	3-yr term 2-yr term
Community Council Agenda Brock: Denise Wilkinson	3-yr term
URCAP Brock: Caitlin Williams	3-yr term

New Hearing and Appeals Committee

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Provost	Susan Larkin		
Faculty Member	Shawn Frazier	1-yr term	2025
SGA President			

Community Council Agenda Committee

Position	Member	Term Length	Term End
Provost	Susan Larkin		
Secretary of the Faculty		1-yr term	2025
Members of Faculty Assembly Agenda Committee			
Birdsong School Faculty	Leslie Caughell	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Brock School Faculty	Denise Wilkinson	1st of 3-yr term	2027
Goode School Faculty	Gavin Pate	3rd of 3-yr term	2025
Watts School Faculty	Doug Kennedy	2nd of 3-yr term	2027
Student Advocate	Selected by SGA		
Community Advocate	Craig Wansink	1-yr term	2025