News Briefs


Vice President for Academic Affairs and Kenneth R. Perry Dean of the College Timothy O’Rourke has announced the selection of the 2015-2018 Batten Professors. Chosen by the division chairs, the new Batten Professors are Benjamin Dobrin (Social Work); Rebecca Hooker (English); and Maury Howard (Chemistry). Begun in 2004, Batten Professorship is an award for faculty excellence in teaching and scholarship, community contributions, and passion for inspiring excellence in others. Faculty awarded the Batten Professorship carry the title for three years and are entitled to special development funding. The 2015-2018 Batten Professors join the following holdover designees: 2013-2016: Richard Bond, Benjamin Haller, William Gibson, Diana Risk, and Philip Rock; and 2014-2017: Hilve Firek, Lydia Kennedy, Gabriela Martorell, John Rudel, and Mavel Velasco. More