Commencement 2019

News Briefs


Virginia Wesleyan College President Scott D. Miller announced this week the selection of the 2016-2019 Batten Professors. The newly named Batten Professors are Paul Ewell, Associate Professor of Management, Business, and Economics; Kevin Kittredge, Associate Professor of Chemistry; Taryn Myers, Assistant Professor of Psychology; and Sharon Swift, Professor of Art. Begun in 2004, Batten Professorship is an award for faculty excellence in teaching and scholarship, community contributions, and passion for inspiring excellence in others. Faculty recipients of this prestigious honor carry the title for three academic years and are rewarded with special development funding that enhances the quality of teaching throughout the College. The 2016-2019 Batten Professors join the following holdover designees: 2015-2018—Benjamin Dobrin, Rebecca Hooker, and Maury Howard; 2014-2017—Hilve Firek, Lydia Kennedy, Gabriela Martorell, John Rudel, and Mavel Velasco. More