News Briefs


Nine Virginia Wesleyan students were inducted into the Society for Collegiate Journalists on December 9. Congratulations to Jasmine Driggs, Corey King, Ashlei Gates, Katherine Bishop, Valerie Miller, Hayley Heath, Justin Smith, Victoria Laughlin and Cynthia Griffin! The Society for Collegiate Journalists is the nation’s oldest organization designed solely to serve college media leaders. The students being inducted pledged to uphold the ethical standards of the Society, subscribe willingly to the practice of freedom of expression and be held accountable for the content of the printed page and broadcast. The speaker at  the induction ceremony was Lori Crouch, an Emmy-nominated, award winning broadcast journalist and public relations professional, who is currently the Director of Corporate Communications for the City of Norfolk. Ms. Crouch was introduced by VWC Associate Professor of Communication Dr. Lisa Lyon Payne, who is the advisor to Virginia Wesleyan's chapter of the Society for Collegiate Journalists which was established in 1995. President of the College, Dr. Scott D. Miller was also on hand to congratulate the new inductees. View photo.