News Briefs


Congratulations to the 25 newest inductees to Phi Eta Sigma, the nation's oldest and largest honor society for first-year college and university students in all disciplines. The spring induction ceremony of select Virginia Wesleyan College freshmen into Phi Eta Sigma was held on February 21, 2017. The mission of Phi Eta Sigma, founded in 1923 at the University of Illinois, is to encourage and reward academic excellence among freshmen at institutions of higher learning. Since its founding, more than 1.1 million scholars have been inducted into chapters on 378 campuses across the United States. Virginia Wesleyan’s chapter was founded in 1983 and today consists of 150 active student members.

Spring 2017 Phi Eta Sigma Inductees

Taylor Anderson                 Connor Graham
Jordyn Aysanoa                 Nel Hart
Alexandra Berg                  Monika Metro
Alexander Benevento        Austin Obenour
Andreas Combos              Jacob Pilarski
Taylor Coutts                     Kelli Porter
Noah Craft                         Kristina Sabelston
Lydia Dale                         Tara Truax
Austin Edmonds                Emma Walsh
Christopher Fegan            Andre' Wiggins
Melissa Fisher                   Taylor Wilhelm
Shae Geary                       Cora Wilson
Isabella Glaze