Photo Gallery: December Graduates' Recognition Ceremony and Reception

News Briefs


Five students from Virginia Wesleyan University will participate in The Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges’ (VFIC) 19th annual statewide collegiate Wells Fargo Ethics Bowl on February 11-12, 2018, on the campus of Hampden-Sydney College in Hampden Sydney, VA. The Virginia Wesleyan University team will compete head-to-head against other highly qualified student teams from Virginia’s 15 leading independent colleges and universities, deliberating a variety of case studies highlighting ethical dilemmas.  The members of the Virginia Wesleyan University student team are: Ruta Habtemariam, Senior; Alex Powers, Freshman; Kelsi Robins, Senior; Brianna Sandy, Freshman, and Sheril Steinberg, Senior. The faculty coordinator for the team is Dr. Kathy Merlock Jackson, PhD, Professor of Communication. Many notable individuals from a variety of career fields including; business, law, education, finance, journalism and others will listen to team presentations and offer reactions to the students’ presentations. The Ethics Bowl program will commence with an opening session on Sunday, February 11 at 2:30 p.m. at Hampden-Sydney College’s Johns Auditorium, with the first matches scheduled for 3:30 p.m. in various classrooms throughout Bortz Library, Brown Student Center, and Johns Auditorium.  On Monday, February 12, rounds 3 and 4 will begin at 8:45 a.m.  The final round of competition will take place at 11:15 a.m. in the Johns Auditorium.  The public is invited to attend the match sessions free of charge.  The winning team will be announced at 12:30 p.m. on Monday.  The team from Hampden-Sydney College took home the Batten Trophy at the 2017 Ethics Bowl. Founded in 1952, the Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges is a nonprofit fund-raising partnership supporting the programs and students of 15 leading independent colleges in the Commonwealth: Bridgewater College, Emory & Henry College, Hampden-Sydney College, Hollins University, Lynchburg College, Mary Baldwin University, Marymount University, Randolph College, Randolph-Macon College, Roanoke College, Shenandoah University, Sweet Briar College, University of Richmond, Virginia Wesleyan University and Washington & Lee University.  For additional information on the VFIC, visit