Photo Gallery: December Graduates' Recognition Ceremony and Reception

News Briefs


President Miller will serve as the dinner chair for the Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities 54th Annual Humanitarian Awards Dinner. The event will take place on Thursday, March 22, at The Westin Virginia Beach Town Center. Humanitarian Awards are presented to individuals and organizations demonstrating a commitment to the promotion of respect and understanding among people of diverse racial, ethnic, and religious backgrounds. This year’s honorees: Kim W. & Valerie K. Brown; Cathy M. Lewis H’09; Lemuel E. Lewis (a Trustee Emeritus of Virginia Wesleyan University); William L. Nusbaum; Angela D. Reddix; and Eggleston (Distinguished Merit Citation).

Corporate Level Sponsors for the event include Birdsong Corporation, Landmark Media Enterprises, LLC, and Sentara Healthcare. Table Level Sponsors include Charles Barker Automotive, Dominion Energy, The Dragas Companies, KPMG, MacArthur Center, Markel Corporation, Norfolk Airport Authority, Norfolk State University, Old Dominion University, Owens & Minor, Inc., Port of Virginia, S L Nusbaum Insurance Agency Inc., Beth N Curtiss & Charles S Nusbaum, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co., Smithfield Foods, Inc., SunTrust Bank, Towne Benefits, Virginia Beach Economic Development, Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay, Williams Mullen, and WHRO Public Media. Full tables and individual seats are still available, and reservations can be made online at:

Past honorees include former VWU Trustee G. Robert Aston Jr. (2002), Trustee Emeritus George Birdsong (1997), Virginia Wesleyan’s Center for the Study of Religious Freedom (2001, Distinguished Merit Citation), former Virginia Wesleyan President Lambuth Clarke (1991), former Trustee B. Minette Cooper (2000), Trustee Mary H. Haddad (2004), Trustee Vincent J. Mastracco (2000), Robert C. Nusbaum (2013), Voices of Faith with Jim Bergdoll (2016, Jeffrey B. Spence Award for Interfaith Understanding), and Craig S. Wansink (2017). President Miller is also preceded in his role as dinner chair by Lambuth Clarke (1979) and Henry Clay Hofheimer (1965).

Virginia Wesleyan’s Center for the Study of Religious Freedom sponsors several presentations and workshops in conjunction with the Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities each year—including the Nexus Interfaith Dialogue series. The center’s associate director, Kelly Jackson, has served on the VCIC Tidewater Chapter since 2004 and was chapter chair from 2014–2017.