Feature Stories

Share this Story

Spring Honors Convocation 2022

Annual ceremony recognizes students' outstanding academic, leadership and service accomplishments


University News | April 29, 2022

Photo Gallery: Spring Honors Convocation 2022

Virginia Wesleyan University’s 2022 Spring Honors Convocation was held April 29 in the TowneBank Arena in the Jane P. Batten Student Center. The annual event pays tribute to student accomplishments in academics, leadership and service. President Scott D. Miller was joined by VWU faculty and members of the community to present the awards.

From individual department awards and special scholarships to outstanding leadership and achievement awards, the event provided an opportunity to celebrate exemplary student achievements. Students on the President’s List, Dean's List, Honor Societies, Batten Honors College, and the Class of 2022 were also recognized by Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Susan Larkin. Watch the 2022 Spring Honors Convocation on the VWU Digital Broadcasting Network.

Congratulations to the 2022 award recipients:

President’s Leadership Award Erin Highsmith
Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellow Henry Handley
Presidential Volunteer Service Award
Gold Level: 250+ Hours of Community Service
Kennedi Anders, Ryan Baldwin, Sasha Bolden, Alaina Bolieau, Cassidy Braithwaite, Maura Bridges, Matthew Campbell, Sydney Collins, Cameron Coplon, Madysen Costello, Danielle D'Arcy, Alexis Davies-Hackenberg, Amanda Ervin, Cameron Evans, Timothy Fisher, Rachel Garlowich, Michael Gatling, Tailor Green, Haylee Hadaway, James Harrod, Robert Inglesby, Michaela Kaklamanos, 
Isaiah Lankford, Jordan McCowan, Aniyah McNeil, Kelvin Nicholson, Meghan Pease, Corey Pelham, Hayden Pence, Taylor Pilkington, Hailey Schumacher, Emily Smith, Amanda Stegemann, Evan Tebay, Alexis Thomas, Carleigh Van Reenen, Brynn Vandegriff, Arianna Ward

Presidential Volunteer Service Award
Silver Level: 175-249 Hours of Community Service

Eric Adams, Kara Cardinal, Benjamin Counsel, Niya Crocker, Rachel DeMay, Evan Kastetter, Isabel Laxton, Ryan Morris, Kathleen VandenBerg, Lindsay White
Presidential Volunteer Service Award
Bronze Level: 100-174 Hours of Community Service
Kayleesue Currier, Gavin Decker, Troy Dettloff, Rebecca Gardner, Erin Highsmith, Stephanie Jackman, Faith Macwana, Robert Massey, Landry Moffo, Ariana Rolle, Emily Uzzle, Maria Weddle, Doris White
Marlin Ministries Servant Leader Award Brooke Underwood
Outstanding Achievement Award for Special Education Jordan McGowan
Outstanding Achievement Award for Elementary Education Carleigh Van Reenen
Outstanding Achievement Award for Educational Studies Madison Scott
Outstanding Achievement Award for MAEd Tristan Ramage
Delta Kappa Gamma Virginia Scholars Award Alyssa Balanta
Creative Excellence in Studio Art Alison Coutu, Devyn Brooks, Kayla Falcone
Department of Biology Outstanding Senior Award Breanna Kokes
Lindsay Weitzel
Hannah Zimmerman
Outstanding Senior Chemistry Award Meghan Pease
Caroline Tryfiates
First-Year Chemistry Achievement Award Casey Bennett
First, Best Graduate in Allied Health Services Mary Cresswell
Outstanding Major in Environmental Studies Award Sophie Gonzales
Hunter Nordberg
Emily Smith
Earth and Environmental Sciences Department Distinguished Graduate Award Olivia Deane
Justin Lee
Kacy McBride
Outstanding Major - Sustainability Management Gabriella Olivieri 
Academic Achievement Award Dheeraj Koritala
The Robert H. Cass Outstanding Senior Award Bianca Atkinson
Classics Department Telemachus Award: Latin  Monte Andrews
Jacob Wilson
Classics Department Telemachus Award: Classical Civ Riley Cheuvront
Eva Cole
Joseph Cooper
Christian Palmisano
Makenzie Washington
Kailyn Yeager
Senior Classics Award Mary-Catherine Rigg
Communication Award Lauren Faulkner
Journalism Award Katie Yeager
Outstanding Computer Science Student Award Kyle Davis Forker
Department of Criminal Justice & Sociology Outstanding Achievements Award Ethan Cravens
Zavian Dorah
Danielle Johnson
Yamila Medlin
Creative Writing Award Robin Pearson
Outstanding English Major Award Brooke Erickson
Sharon L. Payne Award for Excellence in Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies Sasha Bolden 
History Department Distinguished Student Award Cecilia Ward
Political Science Award Hunter Nordberg
Distinguished Graduating Senior in Psychology Jacqueline Carmines
Psychology Research Award Macy Kisiel
William "Tree" Rountree Jr. TowneBank Young Life Award Ashley Lockard
Dora H. Dobrin Award for Excellence in Social Work Alexis Davies-Hackenberg
Rachel Garlowich
Outstanding Sport and Recreation Professions Award Matt Campbell
Adam Smedley 
The Hite Award for Outstanding Service to the VWU Theatre Program Kacy McBride
Library Research Award Connor Merk
Kainaat Trehan