Academic Affairs

Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Maynard Schaus

Dr.  Maynard SchausDr. Maynard Schaus currently serves as Vice President for Academic Affairs (VPAA) at Virginia Wesleyan University.  Dr. Schaus received his B.S. in Biology from California Lutheran University and his Ph.D. in Zoology from Miami University (Ohio). He has been a member of the Virginia Wesleyan Biology faculty since 1998, and contributed to the development of the Environmental Studies program. He previously served as Associate Provost and Dean of University College, Chair of the Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, and Director of Undergraduate Research.  Since assuming the role of VPAA, Dr. Schaus has emphasized strategic program development, increased campus sustainability efforts, managed the academic division’s response to the COVID pandemic, and led an update to the campus strategic plan.

Dr. Schaus’s research on aquatic ecology and the role of fish in lake nutrient cycles in Florida and Ohio has been published in several peer-reviewed journals.  He also received funding from the St. Johns River Water Management District (FL) to support this work, as a part of the effort to restore Lake Apopka, Florida.  He has mentored students on many undergraduate research projects, including studies on green roof runoff, salt marsh bird community composition, and nutrient uptake by stormwater management ponds.  He has also collaborated on investigations of the ecology of neotropical harvestmen in Belize and Costa Rica, and has led several travel courses to these areas.  Dr. Schaus was awarded the Virginia Wesleyan University Batten Scholar Award in 2008 in recognition of his scholarly efforts.

Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
Dr. Susan Larkin

Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs and Director of the Learning Center
Dr. Loren Loving Marquez

Dean of the Batten Honors College
Dr. Travis Malone

Dean of VWU Global Campus
Dr. Deirdre Gonsalves-Jackson

Dean of the Birdsong School of Social Science
Dr. Leslie Caughell

Kenneth R. Perry Dean of the Joan P. Brock School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
Dr. Victor Townsend

Dean of the Susan S. Goode School of Arts and Humanities
Dr. Steven Emmanuel

Dean of the D. Henry Watts School of Professional Studies
Dr. Ben D. Dobrin


Administrative Assistant to the Vice President for Academic Affairs
Rachel Bargery