It's Bob Marlin's Birthday Week! Give a gift to Bob today!

Student Organizations

Beneath our modest size, there are many organizations on the Virginia Wesleyan campus, including some that are bound to catch your interest. From our award-winning newspaper The Marlin Chronicle to academic honor organizations and Greek Life, there's something for everyone. And, if there's something you feel passionate about that's not represented, you're welcome to start an organization to pursue your interest. Becoming part of a college organization is a great way to get involved with campus life, meet people who are interested in the same things you are, and grow as an individual. It's one more way to compound the value of your Virginia Wesleyan experience. Reach out to the Student Leader via their email or the organization’s Instagram to learn how to get involved.

Student Organization Student Leader Student Leader Email Faculty/Staff Advisor(s)
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Kaiya Jenkins Kfjenkins@vwu.edu Paris Foreman
Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Judah King jjking@vwu.edu Alice Jones
Alpha Psi Omega Theatre Honor Society Katelyn Baines kabaines@vwu.edu Dr. Sally Shedd
Alpha Sigma Alpha Alanna Dillon andillon@vwu.edu Hailey Schumacher
Black Student Union Judah King jjking@vwu.edu Dr. Rebecca Hooker & Dr. Deidre Gonsalves-Jackson
Classics Club Alex Cain atcain@vwu.edu Benjamin Haller
College Republicans John Post jmpost1@vwu.edu James Moskowitz
Disabled Students Union Oliver Chauncey-Heine oechaunceyheine@vwu.edu Crit Muniz
Eta Sigma Phi Tate Stephenson rlstephenson@vwu.edu Benjamin Haller
Gamma Sigma Epsilon Sasha Saxon ansaxon@vwu.edu Dr. Joyce Easter
Half Baked Club Sarah Blackburn sgblackburn@vwu.edu Marie Porter
Jewish Student Union Chloe Booher crbooher@vwu.edu Marie Porter
Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. Christopher Mitchell cdmitchell@vwu.edu Alice Jones
Kobudo (Martial Arts) Club Brice Johnson bjohnson@vwu.edu Dr. Arthur Pantelides
Latino Student Alliance Stuart Reyes sjreyes@vwu.edu Felipe Hugueno
Marlin Gems Dance Team Daryl Tucker datucker@vwu.edu Doug Kennedy
Marlin Ministries: Weekly Watch Party Chloe Booher crbooher@vwu.edu Marie Porter
Marlins Fishing Club Katie Baker kmbaker@vwu.edu Dr. Victor Townsend
Marlins Go Green Cecelia Aten craten@vwu.edu Dr. Malcolm
Marlins Music Ministry Brooke Underwood Beunderwood@vwu.edu Marie Porter
NAMI Henry Handley Hthandley@vwu.edu Brandon Foster
National Pan-Hellenic Council Destiny Gaspard dgaspard@vwu.edu Jen Cohen
National Society of Leadership and Success Daryl Tucker datucker@vwu.edu Taryn Myers
Panhellenic Council Abby Moyers aemoyers@vwu.edu Kayleigh Poggioli & Jen Cohen
Phi Alpha Theta  Christian Palmisano clpalmisano@vwu.edu Dr. Clayton Drees
Phi Kappa Tau Jack Palmer jrpalmer@vwu.edu Sarah Guzzo
Planned Parenthood Generation Action Kimmie Koscinski kakoscinski@vwu.edu Jenn Slivka
Poetry Club Oliver Chauncey-Heine oechaunceyheine@vwu.edu Kellie Holzer
S.A.C.H. (Students Against Continued Homelessness) Aidan Foley adfoley@vwu.edu Dr. Kathy Stolley
SAAC (Student Athlete Advisory Council) Alex Moody armoody@vwu.edu Jeff Bowers
Sigma Nu Toren Greenfield-Tuthill tngreenfieldtuthill@vwu.edu Brandon Foster
Sigma Sigma Sigma Olivia Sapp omsapp@vwu.edu Jeffery Toussaint
Sigma Zeta, National Science & Mathematics Honor Society Cecelia Aten craten@vwu.edu Maury Howard
Spectrum Aiden Croghan
Ariana Frazier
accroghan@vwu.edu,
aefrazier@vwu.edu
Kelly Jackson
Student Government Association Eddie McDonald, President eamcdonald@vwu.edu Jen Cohen & Jason Seward
Tabletop Gamers' Guild Erika Eichelberger EJEichelberger@vwu.edu Shane Boyd
The Marlin Chronicle Rhian Tramontana rjtramontana@vwu.edu Lisa Lyon Payne
Wild Team Lauren Ford lnford@vwu.edu Marie Porter
Women of God Lauren Ford lnford@vwu.edu Marie Porter
Young Democrats Jon Murdoch jrmurdoch@vwu.edu James Moskowitz
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Julia Hathaway jahathaway@vwu.edu Jen Cohen

To start a new student organization, please use the active student organization request form. All student organizations will need to meet the following requirements: 

  • 5+ active members who are currently enrolled at the University (exception: fraternities, sororities, and honor societies may have less)
  • A mission statement or description of purpose
  • A faculty/staff advisor (full- or part-time employee of VWU, but not a student) to guide and support the organization. If you have difficulty identifying an advisor, the Office of Student Engagement may be able to assist.
  • An Executive Board with, at minimum, two officers that indicates a chain of command. We recommend four (President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary)
  • An up-to-date constitution (a template is available online) and can be included in the online registration process.

Please refer to the Student Organization Manual for more information.