Campus Master Planning Committee

Virginia Wesleyan completed a 10-month process of comprehensive campus master planning in late 2016 addressing how to best meet the University's academic mission, future campus needs, and commitment to sustainability through the ongoing evolution of its physical space.

The work was completed under the direction of a Campus Master Planning Committee and in conjunction with President Miller's charge to further enhance Virginia Wesleyan's strategic plan following completion of the process. The Committee consulted with the Board of Trustees, President's Cabinet, and Strategic Planning Committee throughout the process and worked with external counsel to complete a Campus Master Plan, Space Utilization Study, and Corrective Maintenance Plan.

A campus master plan is typically centered on the question: "How can an institution best use its land and buildings to meet its future program needs?" That broad charge remains; however, a plan that looks too far into the future runs the risk of being so broad that it is inconsequential soon after its completion. As a result, Virginia Wesleyan's planning process focused on more near-term (up to 10 years) campus utilization issues. The Campus Master Plan responds to a set of specific questions, challenges, and opportunities facing the University as we plan for the future. Areas of inquiry not only focus on the inevitable long-term expansion of facilities, but also address Virginia Wesleyan's commitment to sustainability and responsible land use.

Virginia Wesleyan partnered with Derck and Edson Associates of Lititz, Pennsylvania, to research and develop an effective Campus Master Plan. They are considered a premier firm for private colleges and universities nationwide and provided the external expertise and community engagement necessary to create a useful and dynamic strategy that will move the University forward.

Committee Members

Dr. Scott D. Miller, President of the University (Chair)
Dr. Tim O'Rourke
, Provost and Vice President
Dr. Mort Gamble
, Senior Vice President
Cary Sawyer
, Vice President for Administration and Finance
Dr. Keith Moore
, Vice President for Campus Life and Operational Management
David Waggoner
, Vice President for Enrollment
Bruce Vaughan
, Vice President Emeritus and Director of Capital Projects (Co-Vice Chair)
Stephanie Smaglo
, Executive Assistant to the President
Suzanne Savage
, Associate Vice President for Advancement and Board Relations
Laynee Timlin
, Executive Director of College Relations and Strategic Planning (Co-Vice Chair)
Joanne Renn
, Executive Director of Intercollegiate Athletics
Donald Stauffer
, Senior Researcher and Policy Analyst
Dr. Travis Malone
, Dean of the Susan S. Goode School of Arts and Humanities and Professor of Theatre
Dr. Maynard Schaus
, Associate Provost and Professor of Biology
Dr. Robert Albertson
, Dean of the Birdsong School of Social Science and Professor of Management, Business, and Economics
Mavis McKenley '11
, President, Alumni Council
Patrice Glover
, Student Representative